Congratulations to the MAS Fellows of 2022!

MAS Fellows are nominated by peers and selected by the Fellows Committee with final approval through a vote of MAS Council.  MAS Fellows have distinguished themselves through outstanding research, outreach and teaching, and service to the microanalysis community.  Deadline for the next round of nominations is September 30.


Our new MAS Fellows of 2022 are:

Larry Allard – “For outstanding leadership and sustained contributions to development of electron microscopy of materials”

Greg Meeker – “For outstanding leadership and sustained contributions to microprobe analysis of geological materials and minerals”

Rhonda Stroud – “For outstanding leadership and sustained contributions to analytical microscopy of extraterrestrial materials”

Congratulations to the new MAS Presidential Awards winners!

MAS Presidential Awards

The Presidential Science Award goes to John Panitz, High-Field Consultants, for his contributions to the founding and advancing developments of the atom probe which unlocked the ability to perform atomic scale chemical analysis.

The Presidential Service Award goes to Kerry Siebein, NIST, for outstanding volunteer service to the society over a sustained period of time.  Kerry’s latest role with MAS was as the AReS Chair (2016-2021) and coordinated tour speakers with AReS and she kept us engaged when we could not meet in person.

The K. F. J. Heinrich Award goes to Jordan Hachtel, ORNL, for his distinguished technical contributions to microanalysis by a society member within 15 years of their terminal degree.

The Peter Duncumb Award for Excellence in Microanalysis recognizes outstanding achievement in the field of microanalysis through technical accomplishment, leadership, and educational and professional activities. It is awarded annually to an individual currently active in his or her career through nomination by the MAS membership and selection by MAS Council.  This year’s awardee is Dr. Colin MacRae from CSIRO.  Colin has led a research team that pioneered developments in light element analysis, soft x-ray speciation and the analysis and quantification of cathodoluminescence.

Congratulations to the M&M 2021 Best Paper Award winners!

Best Paper Awards: These awards represent the best papers presented at the previous year’s M&M meeting. Candidates for the MAS Outstanding Paper Awards are nominated, through consultation with symposium organizers and the MAS membership, by the MAS Awards Committee, then approved by vote of MAS Council.

Birks Award for Best Contributed Paper, sponsored by JEOL:
Quantifying Trace Element Variations in Chrysocolla by Clustering FEG-EPMA Hyperspectral Maps
Aaron Torpy, CSIRO

Cosslett Award for Best Invited Paper, sponsored by MAS:
Deciphering extreme mineral records; microstructural phase heritage of shocked materials
Timmons Erickson, Jacobs-JETS, NASA JSC

Castaing Award for Best Student Paper, sponsored by Cameca:
Investigating Space Weathering Effects on Carbonaceous Asteroids Using High-flux and Low-flux Ion Irradiation of the Murchison Meteorite
Dara Laczniak, Purdue University

Macres Award for Best Instrumentation/Software, sponsored by Oxford Instruments:
The virtual FIB: Simulating 3D in situ lift-out for visualization and technique development
Aleksander Mosberg, SuperSTEM

In Memory of Klaus Keil, MAS Fellow and Microanalysis Legend

It is with great sadness that MAS shares news of the passing of Klaus Keil. Klaus was an early proponent for a national society dedicated to electron probe microanalysis, which has evolved to our current MAS.

This Just In! The Deadline for the Call for Papers Has Been Extended by One Week!

The M&M 2022 Call for Papers has been EXTENDED by one week to Thursday, February 24 at 11:59 p.m. PST.

On The Scope – A Masterclass in Practical Scanning Electron Microscopy

The Ohio State University Center for Electron Microscopy and Analysis is offering a training program covering the fundamentals of scanning electron microscopy (SEM) operation.

Read more

Submit your M&M2023 Symposium Ideas before it is too late!

You can still submit your symposium ideas to the M&M 2023 Executive Program Committee!

Read more

Don’t forget to vote in the MAS Election!

MAS Election season is here! The election will run until December 1st. Two people are running for the position of MAS Director, and one person for the position of MAS Secretary.

In Memory of our Microanalysis Colleague Daniel Kent Ross

We are saddened to hear of the passing of our colleague Daniel Kent Ross.

One more day to get the Early Bird registration rate for M&M 2021!

Don’t miss out on the discounted registration fee for M&M2021!

The Early Bird registration rate deadline was extended to June 15, 2021. Register by this Tuesday and save money at all registration levels.

Register here for M&M 2021!

Congratulations to the 2021 Major Award Winners!

The Major Awards of the Society honor distinguished scientific contributions to the field of microscopy and microanalysis by technologists and by scientists at various career stages, as well as distinguished service to the Society. The honor will be conferred at the upcoming Microscopy & Microanalysis 2021 (M&M 2021) meeting.


Please congratulate this year’s awards winners!


Hideyuki Takahashi

John Fournelle
University of Wisconsin, Madison

Yimei Zhu
Brookhaven National Laboratory

Katherine Burgess
U.S. Naval Research Laboratory

ZEISS SCOPEs Grant: Apply to win a free microscope for your K-12 classroom

Carl Zeiss Microscopy, LLC, a MAS Sustaining Member, is pleased to announce the Science Classroom Outreach Program for Educators (SCOPEs) Grant. Each month, they will award one winner with a ZEISS classroom microscope package including an optical microscope, digital camera, and software.
Combined with video chat software or in-person smartboard/projector, students can live tour microscopic specimens, teachers can collect UHD 4K images for lecture notes and homework assignments, and science programs as a whole can be taken to the next level.
Who can apply for this grant:
  • K–12 science educators who are looking for a way to virtually share microscopy lessons.
  • Schools located in the United States.

Anyone interested can find out more information and apply here: ZEISS SCOPEs Grant

Virtual EPMA Workshop from Athens

Athens WorkshopThe Agricultural University of Athens has announced that it will be holding a five-day workshop from 5-9 April 2021 on the use of the electron probe microanalyzer (EPMA). There will be a particular emphasis on modern developments and geological applications.  The workshop is designed to educate undergraduates, graduates, and early career researchers in the theory and practice of EPMA.   The program consists of a set of online lectures covering topics ranging from conventional major element quantitative analysis to new developments in X-ray mapping, trace element analysis, measuring oxidation state and water content of hydrous glasses, and characterizing meteorites. A poster presentation from participants on the first day using Gather.Town will help participants get to know each other and highlight topics of interest for the rest of the course. Additionally, participants will have the option to acquire one to two days of hands-on data on the EPMA housed at our lab (Laboratory of Mineralogy and Geology; Agricultural University of Athens).

Interested individuals should consult the meeting website.

The votes are in: 2021 MAS Leadership Election Results

Thanks to everyone who voted in the 2021 MAS Leadership Election!
Joining MAS Council in the new year are:
President-Elect: Pat Camus
Treasurer – Dave Tomlin
Director – Angela Halfpenny
Director – Josh Taillon
Commercial Director: Steve Seddio
Happy Holidays from MAS! Wishing you a new year of health and happiness.
Heather Lowers, MAS President