Dale-abration: Celebrating Dale Newbury’s 50 years at NIST

A Chesapeake Microscopy & Microanalysis Society Event



To celebrate the occasion, we’ve planned a full day of first rate talks from a diversity of top-rate microscopy and microanalysis researchers from the DC-area and around the country who have worked and collaborated with Dale.

When: Thursday, 16-Feb-2023 9:00 AM to 4:20 PM; registration starts 8:30 AM

Location: Institute for Bioscience and Biotechnology Research, 9600 Gudelsky Dr, Rockville, MD 20850

Parking: There is paid parking in the multi-floor covered garage at the IBBR for $15 for the day.  Come with a colleague or three and split the costs!

Location of the parking lot:  https://goo.gl/maps/iWgTSzjZcPoF46R9A

Lunch:  Boxed lunches subsidized by JEOL, Bruker, and Rave Scientific.

Breaks and Refreshment:  There will be a morning break for coffee, a lunch break and an afternoon break for coffee and cake.

Registration:  There is no registration fee but advanced registration is required. (First come, first serve!) Some of the speaker’s travel is being supported by grants from the Microanalysis Society and the Microscopy Society of America.  Advanced registration will help us to plan a boxed lunch.

Questions: dale.abration@fastmail.com

Program: Latest schedule


Joe Michaels and Masashi Watanabe

  • Joseph Michael, previously a leader at Sandia National Laboratories: “FIB Artifacts that I have come to know.”
  • Masashi Watanabe, Professor, Lehigh University
Invited speakers:

Richard Leapman, Ed Vicenzi, Andy Herzing and John Small

  • Richard Leapman, Scientific Director, Laboratory of Cellular Imaging and Macromolecular Biophysics (LCIMB), NIH
  • Edward Vicenzi, Research Scientist, Smithsonian’s Museum Conservation Institute
  • Andrew Herzing, Physicist, Materials Measurement Science Division, MML, NIST
  • John Small, retired Division Chief of the NIST Materials Measurement Science Laboratory, “Dale’s Time at NIST
  • Nicholas Ritchie, Physicist, NIST, “A Forward Looking Perspective on Dale’s Contributions to Microanalysis
  • Kimberly Foecke, Research Scientist, Smithsonian Institution
Meeting organizers:
  • NIST: Abigail Lindstrom, Fred Meisenkothen, Nicholas Ritchie, John Henry Scott, Keana Scott, Scott Wight
  • CMMS: Emma Bullock (Carnegie Institution for Science) and Ken Livi (Johns Hopkins University)

    I'd prefer a sponsored boxed lunchI'd prefer to make my own plans for lunch

    I'd like a little wall space to present a poster.No, thanks.

    This form uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your data is processed.