Congratulations to the 2023 Best Paper Award Winners!

The Microanalysis Society is proud to announce this year’s Best Paper Award Winners.

These awards are presented annually to the authors of papers from the previous annual meeting judged to be best in each of four categories. The four award winner will be honored on July 24, 2023, at the Microscopy & Microanalysis 2023 meeting.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Birks – Best Contributed Paper
Emma Bullock, Carnegie Institution for Science
Quantitative Compositional Wavelength-Dispersive Mapping of Particles from the Moon

Cosslett – Best Invited Paper
Scott Eckley, Jacobs – NASA JSC
The Utility of X-ray Computed Tomography in Astromaterials Research and Curation: A Case Study from Martian Meteorites

Castaing – Best Student Paper
Edwin Supple, Colorado School of Mines
Carbon Capping for Specimen Preparation of Atom Probe Samples with Features of Interest Near the Surface

Macres – Best Instrumentation/Software Paper
Tina R. Hill, Bruker AXS, Inc.
Micro-XRF Mapping of Chemically Zoned Beryl: Fast, Non-Destructive, and Precise